On September 23, China’s General Administration of Customs announced (link in Chinese) that it would stop issuing the Generalized System of Preference (GSP) Certificates of Origin for exports shipped to the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU), effective on October 12, 2021. The EAEU is an economic union of Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Russia.

In April 2021, the Eurasian Economic Commission Council amended (as translated by the USDA) its GSP list. Countries with GSP status would benefit from EAEU tariff preferences. The amendment involved removing 74 developing countries from the GSP list as well as two least developed countries. Countries removed from the GSP list include “China (including Taiwan and Macao)”, Brazil, India, Turkey, Republic of Korea, Vietnam, Hong Kong, Argentina and others. The decision will come into force on October 12, 2021.